Gluten Free Pasta – Yums

If you read my blog post yesterday, you know that we had Angel Hair Pasta with Scallops. I had to adapt the recipe because I need it to be gluten free, dairy free and soy free. Just a warning, a food photographer I am not, so, don’t judge me!!!

This recipe is an adaptation from one found on SkinnyTaste 

Recipe:

Ingredients:

 

  • 1 lb bay scallops, dried well – I went to Whole Foods with the intention of getting fresh scallops, but they were out so I got frozen
  • 2 tsp olive oil, divided –
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance Soy Free buttery spread
  • 3 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1/2 cup white wine vinegar
  • 14 oz can diced petite tomatoes, drained
  • salt and fresh pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 7 oz angel hair pasta (DeBoles gluten free rice pasta)

 

photo

I had the scallops on a napkin to dry them out as much as possible

Directions:

Put a large pot of salted water to boil.

Heat a large skillet on medium-high heat and add the olive oil and butter. Once it’s very hot, place the scallops into the pan (half of the scallops at first), and allow them to brown without moving them around. After about 30 seconds, flip them over and allow them to brown on the other side. Take them out and place on paper towel or napkin to soak extra moisture. Finish the other half of the scallops.

The next time I make this, I’m going to make some changes. If you’re using high heat, olive oil is not a great choice. I was just following the recipe, but next time, I’ll use grapeseed oil or something that handles high heat better. Also, I don’t enjoy cooking on high heat because it pops in your face. I might experiment with less heat and cooking the scallops longer. 

Add the pasta to the boiling water, and follow the instructions on the box. For rice pasta, you have to be careful not to overcook it because rice pasta gets soft quickly. 

Reduce to high heat and add the remainder of oil. Add the garlic and cook until slightly brown. Add the tomatoes, wine, salt and pepper and cook an additional 2 minutes. Add 2 tablespoons of parsley, and remove from heat.

The other thing I’ll change is adding less liquid. I’d also like to cook the tomatoes a little longer because I like them to break down a bit more. The original recipe calls for white wine, but my husband and I don’t drink and I don’t like to keep wine around the house for that purpose. I bought white wine vinegar instead, which was good, but should be reduced to about half of what the original recipe says. There’s plenty of liquid with the canned tomatoes and olive oil, so reducing the wine would be fine. 

photo2

Add the scallops and remove from heat.

photo3

It was nice to eat something different and the flavors together were really good. It came out kind of like a pomodoro sauce which is one of my favs! Super healthy!!

and then I finished it off with this –

photo

Kinnikinnick Gluten Free Vanilla Glazed donuts – they’re actually really really good

Yums 🙂

Leave a Reply

